My Scary Mommy essay on how Facebook made my 30th high school reunion more fun and meaningful

fullsizeoutput_14f3

Paula, me, and Roxanne at our informal 30th reunion.

One of my essays was featured at Scary Mommy!

Yes, we’re in the throes of a global pandemic, wearing masks and working from home, and this piece has ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with that. But it might offer a fun, thoughtful read nonetheless.

Last fall, the night before Thanksgiving, some classmates of mine from high school decided to have an informal reunion at a bar.

I didn’t think I’d go. I wasn’t sure why I would want to.

But I went. And I ended up having a pretty great evening, thanks to – wait for it – Facebook.

You read that right. Now read the full essay here. And thanks for reading my work!

One thought on “My Scary Mommy essay on how Facebook made my 30th high school reunion more fun and meaningful

  1. Dan_of_Reason says:

    Hi Jenn, I went to my 30th reunion a few months before lockdown and the organizer (one of the prettiest in school) gave me a big hug; she is married now but might have had a crush on me decades back. Nostalgia I suppose, but I am also obtuse in issues relating to women (I could fill a book). Anyway, I have fond memories of you prancing… yes, you were prancing… around the rental house on Madison. (Full disclosure gentle reader, everything was rated G.) Good times; never lose that bounce in your step! Warmest Regards, Dan (the blonde one with debonair tendencies and kick-ass ping pong skills).

Leave a comment